Not a member yet? Why not Sign up today
Create an account  

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

What makes you mod?

Hello everyone, as a fellow artist I just want to ask all the modders here (for any game) what makes you mod in the first place? I plan on having a career in animation and game development and I thought maybe modding would be a pretty neat place to start. Do you guys plan on doing anything with modding in the future or is it just a hobby? Also, how did you guys start? Were there classes you guys took first or did you wake up one day and decided to be a self-starter (or maybe something in between)? If anyone also does animation (sfm, etc), is that easier or harder than modding and which one would you recommend for a beginner in 3D art? If there is already a similar thread to this, please let me know. I would luv to pick ya'll brain on this, advanced modders and budding ones too. Thanks!  Big Grin
[Image: tumblr_o28sbpHtvq1son3fpo1_500.gif]

@"Rocklee89"

Jeez, that's like, a college entrance exam essay prompt. 
(cracks open beer)
Quote:what makes you mod in the first place?
Quote:Also, how did you guys start?
Mmmm. When I started I guess I had a few reasons....? Now I do it as a creative outlet. My day job is artsy but soul crushing, it's nice to do something artistic where I have actual creative control that translates to my other favorite hobby, which is fighting games.

I started modding around....Christmas last year I guess? I remember seeing a bunch of mods on Escrubs that caught my interest and I ended up on /r/streetfightermods looking for stuff to add to my game. Somebody posted a pic of Chae Lim asking for a Juri mod. And I remember clearly saying to myself, "nobody's ever going to make a mod that puts more clothes on Juri instead of less unless I figure that shit out myself."

And the rest was history, really I just jumped in. 
No classes or previous modeling experience, I just sort of lurked on Zetaboards and followed the tutorials.